It’s For A Good Cause!….A Crazy Woman’s Plea

I think I may have lost my marbles.

Exuberance: You're at a ten. We need you at about a seven.
I’ve signed up to walk 5K in the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon on October 14th as part of Team Make-A-Wish Canada.

This in itself isn’t so crazy.

First of all, it’s for a great cause. Secondly, although I’m completely out of shape and have only recently discovered this amazing thing called “going to the gym,” I’m pretty adept at walking. I’ve even done this same walk before, to raise money for the Assaulted Women’s Helpline.

The thing is, in a reckless attempt to raise a lot of money for Make-A-Wish Canada, I made a promise to my friends that if I met my fundraising goal of $500, I would also do the Enbridge CN Tower Stair Climb for United Way the following weekend on October 20th.

Like, climb to the top of the CN Tower. By taking the stairs.

Sign: Only 1776 steps to go!

Is this supposed to be encouraging?!

Whether it was because they believed in the great work these organizations do, or just for the sick pleasure of sending me to my death, I quickly reached and exceeded my fundraising goal with the generous help of my friends and family. I’ve now raised $635! Thanks everyone!

So now I sort of have to follow through on my promise I guess. Crap.

I know the 5K walk is going to be great. It’s a long walk for sure, but for me, completely do-able. No worries there.

The stair climb is another story. (That was an unplanned pun, I promise.) I’ve heard different opinions about the difficulty of the stair climb, from “oh it’s easy, even little kids do it” to looks of aghast horror.

I’m pretty nervous that the occasional torture session spinning class over the last couple of months hasn’t exactly prepared me to climb to the top of what was once the tallest free-standing building in the world…

I must be as crazy as Mr. Burns:

On that note, if you’d like to contribute to either of these great causes, or leave me a message of support, please visit my fundraising pages:

Make-A-Wish Canada2012 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon
October 14th

United Way


2012 Enbridge CN Tower Stair Climb
October 20th

Do any of you fitter, sportier, more athletic types have any advice, encouragement, or tips for a poorly trained but enthusiastic fitness dabbler like me?

Thanks and wish me luck!!

2 comments

  1. Kenneth · October 1, 2012

    I’m not by any means an athletic person, but my only advice for the CN Tower is to not climb stairs with a lit cigarette in your mouth.

    Meanwhile, well wishes with your wonderful fundraising!

Leave a Reply

