Stroke of Spirit

I’ve been devouring TEDTalks lately on Netflix. This one in particular blew my mind:

Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor, a neuroscientist, describes how a massive stroke temporarily disconnected her consciousness from the left side of her brain.

The experience gave her new insight into the science of perception, and brought her into an altered state of spiritual awakening.

Here are a few excerpts:

Our right hemisphere is all about this present moment. It’s all about right here right now. Our right hemisphere, it thinks in pictures and it learns kinesthetically through the movement of our bodies.

We are energy beings connected to one another through the consciousness of our right hemispheres as one human family. And right here, right now, all we are brothers and sisters on this planet, here to make the world a better place. And in this moment we are perfect. We are whole. And we are beautiful.

I felt enormous and expansive, like a genie just liberated from her bottle. And my spirit soared free like a great whale gliding through the sea of silent euphoria. Nirvana. I found Nirvana. I remember thinking there’s no way I would ever be able to squeeze the enormousness of myself back inside this tiny little body.

We are the life force power of the universe, with manual dexterity and two cognitive minds. And we have the power to choose, moment by moment, who and how we want to be in the world. Right here right now, I can step into the consciousness of my right hemisphere where we are — I am — the life force power of the universe, and the life force power of the 50 trillion beautiful molecular geniuses that make up my form. At one with all that is.

Preach it, sister!

DrJillTaylor

Read the full transcript here.

4 responses to “Stroke of Spirit

  1. It is a great video, I love the part where she talks about putting her hand through the wall, becoming part of it!
    Take a look at prof Micheal persingers lecture on OBE and ESP . I have it on my blog or just youtube it , No more Secrets.
    Thanks

  2. Excellent talk–but the Twister Sister Christmas video is really far more telling about the human brain.

Leave a Reply

